RSS

Second Life Book Events June 24-30

24 Jun

TUESDAY, JUNE 24

11:00 am
Poetry and Prose (Guild of UK Writers)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Scotland%20Plarmigan/173/134/22

Share your own work or ask one of our guest poets to read for you. OPEN MIC. Very popular event. (GATHERING HELD AT THE STONE CIRCLE)

—————————————

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 25

1:00 pm
SLT Murder She Wrote (Guild of UK Writers)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Scotland%20Plarmigan/173/134/22

Published author Cora Hawker reads from her thriller/horror novel “The Lesser of Two Evils”. Not for the faint-hearted. (GATHERING HELD AT THE STONE CIRCLE)

*****

5:00-6:30 pm
Fairy Tale Discussion Group…Little Red Riding Hood (Fiction & Lattes)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Healy/206/64/103

A girl, a wolf, a grandmother and a red cape….what possibly could happen? And why red?

*****

6:00-7:00 pm
Mystery Books Discussion (Mystery Manor)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Info%20Island/181/161/33

Book discussion on Sara Paretsky’s Hard Time, a V. I. Warshawski novel. This time V. I. gets an up close and personal look at the prison system. Warshawski, is a detective in the hardboiled school. With her “Paretsky is credited with transforming the role and image of women in the crime novel.” (Wikipedia). (GAZEBO AT MYSTERY MANOR)

—————————————

THURSDAY, JUNE 26

6:00-8:00 p.m
Grande Opening of the Toussaint L’Ouverture Library of New Toulouse & St. John the Baptists Feast Celebration (The Toussaint L’Ouverture Library)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/New%20Toulouse/64/108/23

Please join us as we christen our new library on (belated) St. John’s Eve, the holiest day of the Voodoo calendar. A celebration of growth and moving forward, we’ll baptize the newest addition to the New Toulouse neighborhood in gin and gumbo. After a brief ceremony, music and dancing will be provided in New Toulouse style!

—————————————

FRIDAY, JUNE 27

2:00 pm
SLT Trivia Quest (Guild of UK Writers)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Scotland%20Plarmigan/173/134/22

As the name implies, it is all about trivia – a night of trivia to be exact (or as we Brits like to call it a PUB QUIZ). Pit your brains against the man in the machine – whoever he might be. Highest score at the end of the night wins L$500. (GATHERING HELD IN THE LOUNGE BAR OF THE MAIN HOUSE)

—————————————

SATURDAY, JUNE 28

Noon
Book Trivia: Festivals, Fetes & Parties (Bookstacks)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Tholtfinger/47/131/49

Every Book Trivia game is a party, right? Join us for this week’s celebration as we cover Festivals, Fetes & Parties in literature. The winner takes home $L250.

*****

2:00-3:00 pmReading:The Valley of the Ivory Swan : The Warrior Princess by Aianna Oh (Winterfell Library)
http://slurl.com/secondlife/Winterfell/106/201/36

Author Aianna Oh reads from her novel-in-progress, a work of High Fantasy

—————————————

SUNDAY, JUNE 29

11:00 am
Book Discussion: Steampunk Literature (Bookstacks)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Tholtfinger/47/131/49

Do you like your alternate history to twist with brass elbow joints? Some dirigibles with your Victoriana? Fans of Neal Stephenson, Michael Chabon, Paul diFlippo, Michael Moorcock, et al., please join us for a discussion of your favorite works.

—————————————

MONDAY, JUNE 30

2:00 pm
Aianna Oh Storyteller – Valley of the Ivory Swan – vol. 1 Warrior Princess (Guild of UK Writers)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Scotland%20Plarmigan/173/134/22

Real Life Storyteller, Aianna Oh shares her wonderful fantasy book. (GATHERING HELD AT THE STONE CIRCLE)

*****

6:00 pm
Book-to-Film: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep/Blade Runner (Bookstacks)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Tholtfinger/47/131/49

Join us for our monthly discussion of great books turned into great films. This week will discuss one of my top 5 favorite movies, Blade Runner, and the book that inspired it, Philip K. Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep.

—————————————

Daily, Sunday – Friday

Noon-1:00 pm
The URU Book Club Readings (URU)

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Labro/234/196/36

Live Book Readings at the Explorers Community Center (The Long Walk by Slavomir Rawicz). Must have voice enabled to hear the reading.

Advertisements
 
Comments Off on Second Life Book Events June 24-30

Posted by on June 24, 2008 in events, trivia

 

Comments are closed.